My interior design class (along with about a million other things this crazy busy fall…sorry for the lack of posts, ugh) has been keeping me pretty busy!  I thought I’d share one of my recent projects: a color and theme board.  The purpose of the project was to show a specific style (i.e., minimalist, Asian, French country) and a specific color palate so that it is immediately recognizable when someone looks at it.

I decided to do a traditional Belgian style in a typical Belgian color palate of “neutral”.  Wanna see?

belgian style, "neutral" color scheme

belgian style, "neutral" color scheme

In doing some research for the project, I remembered a great post by Joni over at Cote de Texas on Belgian design.  This was an easy jumping off point for me and an easy set of guidelines to follow when putting together my board.

  • Quiet and monotone
  • Few printed fabrics
  • Plain linens and deep-hued velvets
  • Antique elements
  • Wood beams
  • Stone floors
  • Marble staircases
  • Limed wood
  • Accessories oversized and in small quantities
  • Plentiful numbers of books
  • Austere sofas: large, long, slipped
  • Big emphasis on oversized lighting, usually lanterns or crystal chandeliers
  • Textures important: “rough, rustic woods and stone surfaces are played against smooth, shiny crystals and glass”

Restoration Hardware, where I’ve previously expressed my love, has been showing lots and lots of traditional Belgian style lately.  The pic in the top left of my board is from a recent catalog and epitomizes the style with its linen covered chair, pickled wood cabinet and floors, linen curtains, and neutral color scheme:

some RH furniture love

some RH furniture love

I showed typical Belgian components like limestone and marble.  And the paint swatches are actually an almost concrete-like paint finish from Ralph Lauren.

My teacher loved the pop of eggplant velvet I added!  The color just felt so good with the warm linens.  I used the Barefoot Contessa’s office area from House Beautiful’s Kitchen of the Year, where an antique Belgian desk is paired with a purple linen slipcovered chair and a vase full of irises, as an example for how color could be used in traditional Belgian design.

deep-hued eggplant velvet!

deep-hued eggplant velvet!

I popped into a fabric shop and grabbed swatches of every warm colored linens they had!  The pic in the lower right is a great example of one of the linens at play in some floor-length curtains (I think also from Restoration Hardware).

love the metal and unfinished wood tables

love the metal and unfinished wood tables

So there you have it!  A quiz tonight on four chapters: color, floor plans, space planning, building systems, and lighting!

Hopefully I’ll be back in the blogging saddle soon, we’ll see!

