I know, I know, where have I been?!  Definitely absent from the blogosphere, that’s for sure!  I have been super busy with work and life stuff this week, and have had what feels like zero creativity/inspiration/project time.  But never fear, I am back and hope to be filling this little blog with lots more design fun this week.

Last night was my second interior design class.  And let me just say, I am loving it!!!  Sure, there’s a lot of reading, but it’s actually reading I like!  And sure, it’s a long class after a long day (try 6-10:15pm after being at work since 8:30am and it taking an hour and a half in traffic to get there!)…but it’s been really interesting and fun so far.

So of course I want to share what I’m learning in class (and 10 bonus points to anyone who knows the source of my new category “cool school” – it may or may not be from a cult early 90s TV show)!

I am a super nerd because I was SO EXCITED to bring all my brand new architectural drafting supplies to class.  We were learning the basic principles of drafting!!!  L-O-V-E.  We brought in the measurements of our bedrooms and bathrooms and were taught how to put it on drafting paper:

my first attempt at drafting!

my first attempt at drafting!

This week I have to place my existing furniture and then turn it in for grading/critique.  Omigosh I love this stuff.   (By the way, that little silver thing with all the shapes is an eraser shield, and the white “pencil” is actually an eraser, and they are both the best inventions ever!!!)

After drawing for about half the class, our instructor started a lecture on design elements and design principles.  I bet you remember this from art class, but here’s a refresher (and no, I won’t define them all – they are pretty self-explanatory!):

Elements of Design – the use of these elements drive the success of a room design

  • Space
  • Line
  • Color
  • Shape
  • Texture
  • Form

Principles of Design – these principles guide the relationships of design elements in a room design

  • Harmony & Unity
  • Balance
  • Contrast
  • Rhythm
  • Emphasis
  • Proportion & Scale

So, that’s a bit what I’m learning so far!  I’ll be sure to share more as I go along.  🙂  And let me just say, I am SO GLAD I decided to (finally) take this class!

