Don’t you just love it when you can cross off not one, but multiple projects that have been lingering in your subconscious to-do list?!  The rush of satisfaction, the very final line through project #853 in a seemingly never-ending list, the removal of piles of supplies that had been awaiting your time and attention…  Oh, it feels GOOD.

This weekend was just this sort of productive weekend for me.  While Husband was away for National Guard drill and with nothing on my schedule, I decided to tackle a few projects that have been ignored and cluttering my office/guest room.  (Actually, I don’t know if you can actually call all of these things “projects “…but they sure felt like them because they weren’t getting done!)

  • PROJECT #1:  Hang curtain rod
  • PROJECT #2:  Iron and hem curtains
  • PROJECT #3:  Re-hang and shorten bamboo blind
  • PROJECT #4:  Hang newly re-done cork board

That doesn’t sound like a very difficult or time-consuming list, does it?  It certainly doesn’t sound like things that shouldn’t have been done, oh, a month ago, right?  Just call me very easily distracted.  🙂

PROJECT #1:  Hang curtain rod

This curtain rod (World Market, I think) had been hanging in Husband’s office until I repainted the room back in April.

ready for a coat of glossy white, isn't it?!

ready for a coat of paint, isn't it?!

I found it a little too feminine for his “man room” so I thought I’d paint it white and put it my office/guest room; flowers just don’t work for my manly man of a husband.  And so it sat, unpainted and ignored, until a few weeks ago when I went on a spray-painting rampage (where more than just the curtain rod found new life, including yesterday’s corkboard).

And then it sat again for a few weeks until I finally hung it on Sunday.  Of course I made sure to follow the Youngsters’ famous advice to “hang it high and wide,” which is exactly what I did – and boy does it make the window look bigger and the ceiling higher!

the newly glossy white rod hung high and wide

the newly glossy white rod hung high and wide

PROJECT #2: Iron and hem curtains

Looking for something breezy and white to add some interest to the window, I picked up a pair of Matilda curtains from IKEA on my last trip there.

I would now like to make a shout-out to the IKEA people: thank you for selling inexpensive curtains in a single length with iron-on hemming tape!  You rock!  These cute little curtains were only $19.99 and were SO easy to hem…I didn’t even have to pull out my sewing machine!  Just fold and iron.

don't you love the details?

don't you love the cute details?

no sewing required!

no sewing required!

Then it was a snap to hang them – and what a difference.

a perfect little touch to the room

a perfect little touch to the room

PROJECT #3:  Re-hang and shorten bamboo blinds

The previous owners left a set of inexpensive bamboo blinds in the window.  It was hung by a pair of triangular mounts to hooks hung just over the woodwork.  To further the “high and wide” concept and to let in more light, I rehung the blinds about 4 inches above the woodwork.  SO much better!

the blinds hung higher

the blinds hung higher

An out-of-the-box set of blinds, it was waaaaaaaaay too long (like, a foot too long).  So, after rehanging it, I proceeded to cut the strings that held the horizontal pieces of bamboo about 2 inches longer than the window sill (so I’d have enough string to re-tie).  Then I pulled out the extras so that the last piece of bamboo would just graze the window sill.  I re-tied each and every string…which was not fun…at all…it took forever since there were about a dozen pieces to re-tie!  But it looks 100x better and I’m glad I pushed through!

now the blinds just graze the window sill

now the blinds just graze the window sill

PROJECT #4:  Hang newly re-done corkboard

Remember yesterday’s post on the corkboard I re-did?  Well, it was time to hang it too.

done and done

done and done

It felt SO good to wrap up those four projects…and it only took about an hour and a half.  Now I feel like I can productively use this room with these projects no longer staring me in the face!

Want to see a final shot of it all together?

four projects DONE!

four projects DONE!

[DISCLAIMER: I realize the chair and ottoman are terribly ugly.  And absolutely do not “go” in here…or anywhere for that matter!  This is another lingering project (my first upholstery re-do!) that will likely be a fall/winter it’s-too-cold-to-do-anything-but-big-projects project.  So just let your eyes glaze over its ugliness and focus on the finished projects!]

Did you get any annoying projects done this weekend???  Do tell.

