A few years ago I picked up an open-backed frame and big piece of corkboard from Michael’s to DIY a prettified corkboard.  I painted it black, then put some gold accents on the detailing.  (I think I was in a black-and-gold phase back then.)  Although I used it in two previous apartments, this little corkboard had been sitting unused in a closet since we moved into our townhouse.  Although it’s hard to tell from the pics, the frame is about 2’x1.5′.

yes - definitely time for a makeover!

yes - definitely time for a makeover!

I’ve been in the need of an inspiration board in my office to put my latest tear sheets, fabric swatches, and sketches, so the proverbial light bulb when off when I saw this little DIY makeover on everything LEB (which she, a few weeks later, recovered with BURLAP):

genius!

isn't this the best idea?!

Lindsay took a generic corkboard she had lying around the house and wrapped it in linen and nailheads!  Pure genius, I tell ya!  I thought I’d take that burlap-wrapped cork idea for my own and re-do my ignored frame.

So a few weeks ago when on a spray-painting frenzy, my black and gold frame got a fresh coat of glossy white paint.

the frame getting a coat of primer

the frame getting a coat of primer

While the frame was drying after being primed and spray-painted glossy white, I wrapped the piece of cork with some burlap (somehow I have like 6 yards of this stuff sitting around!).  I first tried to superglue the burlap to the back of the corkboard, but after my fingers starting sticking to it, I took the lame-o route and just used heavy duty packing tape.  Heck – no one will be looking at the back of the frame, so I’m okay with it!  🙂

After all was dry, I lined the inner frame with super glue and then squeezed the corkboard in for a perfect fit.  Ta-da – a totally new inspiration board!!!

allllll done!

allllll done!

this project's well-deserved close-up

this project's well-deserved close-up

I absolutely love it!  Thanks for the inspiration, Lindsay!

And are you curious about the thumbtacks you spied on the finished corkboard?!  You’ll have to wait until later this week to hear all about it.  🙂

