Our powder room was when we moved in and is currently a vibrant shade of….pomegrante? persimmon?….I’m not sure what, but it is a bright reddish-orangeish color.  It’s fun – sort of – but it doesn’t exactly “go” in our house.  It’s definitely not a color I would have picked out myself. Benjamin Moore’s iPhone Color Capture app tagged it as “Festive Orange”:

orange_powder_room

Not only is it “festive”, but it is poorly painted in a shiny finish (as in for a full bathroom – totally unnecessary for a half bath) and the walls were definitely NOT prepped properly…  I think it may have once been wallpapered because it has a rough finish and shows a lot of places where drywall patching/seaming was done around the woodwork.  Every time I use the loo, I stare at the walls, annoyed that we’ve lived here over two years and it is still in this state!  The shame!

A few months back I put my foot down and decided that I would make this little bathroom over in a fun stencil, using chocolate brown and a neutral.  I hunted high and low and thought I had settled the great stencil debate with this medallion stencil from Jan Dressler Stencils:

imagine it with chocolate brown as the dominant color

imagine it with chocolate brown as the dominant color

I bought it (go me!) but it has been sitting in my office/guest room, waiting for a free day and fit of productivity to tackle refinishing the walls.  That, of course, has yet to happen.  And, to be totally honest, I’m not sure I’m totally crazy about the stencil.  I had expected the shapes to be smaller, but the medallions are around 6″ in diameter…  Maybe that’s why I haven’t jumped right into the project?!

So the other day I was perusing through a new (to me) blog, Tracery (found via bryn alexandra – thanks, Bryn!).  You really must check it out!  Their most recent posts have been all about the Southern Living Tarpon Run Idea House, which they decorated.  One such post was on a stencil company, Whitewall & Co, used in the house.  Of course I visited the site and now I am stumped.

what should i do?!

what should i do?!

Do I keep the stencil I already have, or go for one of these beauts?!  I’m especially enamored by the Turkish Rose stencil.

Help!  I don’t know what to do!!!

