I had to laugh out loud reading through this post by Erin of elements of style…because I think I suffer from the same thing.  She was out shopping for a baby gift for a friend and stumbled upon the most perfect of baby slings – an embroidered one by Serena & Lily.

isn't that embroidery gorgeous?!

isn't that embroidery gorgeous?!

In a fit of future planning (haha! – since she and her husband are nowhere near baby time) she, to her husband’s horror, tried on said sling to test it out and was very near actually buying it.  I mean, she had sound reasoning:

  • It was perfection!
  • She had been coveting it for some time (lots and lots of baby gift buying introduced her to it)!
  • What if it’s no longer made when she gets pregnant?!

Is she crazy???  I think not.  Well I hope not because I may have done something veeeery similiar recently.  Okay, maybe yesterday.

Awhile back I saw a post she did, designing a nursery for Erika of Urban Grace Interiors (by the way – if you haven’t seen the plans for her baby’s nursery: heaven), with these ADORABLE French alphabet cards.  They are made by Etsy seller bibitty,  and I’ve had them bookmarked ever since – perfect hints of apple green, robin’s egg blue, and pink…  Over the last few months I have frequently stalked visited them and enjoyed their cuteness, thinking about how they would look just perfect on a (future) nursery wall, boy or girl.

aren't they the cutest?!

aren't they the cutest?!

So yesterday I was on the phone with a dear friend from home (with the pregnancy disease, of course – I swear everyone has it right now), talking about the baby, etc., and I started to think about those perfect French alphabet cards again…

I revisited and thought to myself, “Self, just buy them.  You’ve loved them for going on 3 months now.  Just get them and put them in a box for later since a baby isn’t on the horizon any time soon.”  I caved to that reasoning and purchased them right then and there, for the very same reasons Erin almost bought that sling.  And I can’t wait to get them.  🙂

Am I crazy?!  Have you ever done anything like that???

