Like I mentioned yesterday, I have been MIA this week because I was on a 5-day cycling “tour” through the Charlottesville-Culpeper corridor of Virginia.  This tour, in its 22nd year, is through an organization called Bike Virignia, which organizes this event in different parts of Virginia.  Last year was based out of Abingdon (southwest Virginia), this year Charlottesville, and next year Harrisonburg.

our monday route map

our monday route map

My dad and I both love road biking and the state of Virignia, so it was a perfect fit!  We joined 2000 other cyclists, riding 300+ miles through HILLY backroads in and around Charlottesville, Orange, Madison and Culpeper (just to name a few of the bigger cities/towns).  It was a tough 5 days, but so worth it – lots of memories to hold near and dear (and a new-found urge to make the move to the country outside Charlottesville!).

I thought I’d share a few of the vistas and farms we passed along the way!  And yes, I got pretty good at taking pics over my shoulder or to the side as I was riding…  Impressive multi-tasking?  Yes.  Safe?  Not so much.

IMG_3185

IMG_3196

IMG_3199

IMG_3208

IMG_3222

IMG_3224

IMG_3227

IMG_3234

IMG_3240

IMG_3244

IMG_3252

IMG_3266

IMG_3276

IMG_3280

IMG_3323

{all photos taken by me}

