A few weekends ago, I decided that our townhouse’s backyard needed a little visual separation from our neighbor’s yard…  Okay, let’s be honest, I got tired of watching them walk across our yard to get to the sidewalk so I did what every passive aggressive person would do and put up a trellis.  <blush>  I’m terrible, I know.  But seriously, I had been thinking about a way to hide us from our neighbor’s overgrown yard, screen our A/C unit, and add a little height and extra color to our backyard.

screen that green

screen that green

I purchased three 3’x6′ wooden trellises from our local plant nursery.  Husband and I laid them out in various arrangements, not really liking the options until he (brilliantly) suggested we angle the center one.  I set to work digging holes for each post (using a bulb planting tool) and packed the dirt in tightly around each post.  Husband used a rubber mallet to pound them deeper in the dirt and even them out since they’re arranged on a slight slope.

Where the corners of each of the trellises met, I planted a New Dawn climbing rose bush.  This type of rose is a super hardy, repeat blooming, and fast-growing variety, that will grow to 12′-18′ x 6′-10′.  As it grows, I’ll have to be pretty conscientious about weaving it in and out of the trellises until it totally covers them and the pair of bushes intertwine.

Yeah, so the backyard looks a little junky right now with the grill in the way, the not-so-happy ornamental grasses (trampled by aforementioned neighbors!), and the neighbor’s yard and our A/C unit still plainly visible, but I have high hopes for how it will look in a year or two, covered in shoots and blooms!

vase of new blooms

vase of new blooms

I’ve already been surprised at how many blooms these bushes have produced – such a pretty pale pink and so fragrant!  I love that I can go outside everyday and cut a fresh (albeit short-stemmed) rose to put in a little vase…how’s that for price-per-bloom?!  Here’s about 6 of them in a little white ceramic pot from IKEA…don’t you love their coloring?

