Only about 45 minutes from where I live is Leesburg, known for its outlet stores, good school district, and more affordable homes (as far as DC goes)…yet somehow I still can’t believe it’s considered “metro DC”.  I seriously have to plan weekends around a trip to the outlets since it takes a good while to get there and you have to pay $4.50 each way on the toll road.  BUT, a recent weekend day trip with my good friends Girl and L made it a trip well worth the time and tolls.  (FYI – L posted on our little day trip here)

We first made a stop at the winery, Tarara.  We sampled the full flight of wines (my faves were the Chardonnay Reserve and the special dessert wine in honor of the late owner, but for the life of me I can’t remember the name of it).  It was very rushed with very generous pours…not a good combo!  And poor Girl is allergic to sulfites and couldn’t even partake of the reds (boo).  It was a rainy day so we didn’t get to explore much or hang outside, which was a bummer…maybe next time.

Next up on the agenda was Luckett Store (although I don’t like Flash websites much, I think theirs is pretty cool…and the buffalo head on the site definitely exists in the entry of the store):

the old luckett store

the old luckett store

We first hit up their monthly Design House, which is a an old house done up to the nines in fun furniture and home accessories for sale.

on the way to the design house

on the way to the design house

Once you walked through barn’s breezeway (which was filled with chic black and white decor goodness), the yard was covered with other fun decor finds, like the below:

cool mirror on the barn i can't believe i didnt' get...

fab convex mirror on the barn i can't believe i didnt' get...

Here’s the Design House itself, with the beautiful (and fragrant) wisteria leading the way:

climbing wisteria outside the design house

climbing wisteria outside the design house

Now begins the fun stuff.  Each room was filled to the brim with all sorts of treasures.  Most items had a Belgian / Swedish / shabby chic feel – light woods, painted woods, neutrals.

The first room we wandered through was the study.  I very much loved the mirrored armoire and wingback chair.  I would welcome both in my living room ASAP!

some of the fun finds in the house's study

some of the fun finds in the house's study

Upstairs in one of the bedrooms, L and I fell in love with this pillow, covered in swaths of burlap, tulle, silks, and linen.  The pricetag was not a happy sight – so this one definitely landed on my DIY to-do list.  Helllllooooo easy project!

up in the bedroom, L holding a pillow (and future DIY project)

L holding a pillow (and future DIY project)

Be still my pitter-pattering heart.  I looooove this winback – the tufts, the girlish curves, the brass tacks, the burlap upholstery…  And the pillow is pretty darn cute too.  Hmm…maybe I need to go back…

another glorious wingback in burlap

another glorious wingback in burlap

Here’s another fun chair, covered in a luxe turquoise, tan and cream stripe.  I love the splayed arms and the interesting back.  Check out that beaut of an armoire to the left.  Finished in a perfect shade of charcoal and fronted with sliding paned doors, I want…  I also kind of dig that wire obelisk thingie in the background – wouldn’t that be fun with a climby vine in the garden?

another cool chair

another cool chair

Now into the bathroom.  I thought this girlie ruffled shower curtain was so cute…and also added it to my DIY project list.

yes, please!

i'll take that clawfoot tub too!

One of the sitting rooms was covered in greenery (like those rosemary bunches), bird cages, and more burlap-upholstered furniture.  I’m also digging that chandelier…and the paneled ceiling, of course.

asdf

sitting room treasures

The upstairs hallway (painted with lime and white vertical stripes) had L and I calling dibs on this beautiful settee (and I wouldn’t mind a pair of those cute lucite ball lamps and furry pillow!):

husband, may i?

husband, may i?

One of the other bedrooms had a lovely sitting area of more linen- and burlap-upholstered furniture.  I especially love this pair of (sold, boo!) scroll-armed armchairs…and I think that birdcage would rock for bunches of potted plants…and I also love that marble topped coffee table:

sitting area

sitting area

The last bedroom in the house had this gor-ge-ous tufted (tufts!!!) headboard – again, in burlap.  The bed was topped in pretty linens, and above it was a TDF (to die for – husband and I like to acronym-ize things) Venetian glass chandelier.  There’s Girl (with a mirror L scored) checking out a cute lamp.

bed

a bed made for a princess!

I left the Design House with a ceramic pheasant (no pics, dang), which is now chilling in my kitchen, propping up my cookbooks.  I know…what is the deal with me and birds?!

We headed back over to the store, first stopping to check out the outdoor “sheds” of finds – lots of fireplace mantles (like the one Lauren at Pure Style Home found for her living room at Lucketts), old windows, iron fencing, and other architectural pieces:

yeah, so it was a little rainy - good thing for galoshes!

yeah, so it was a little rainy - good thing for galoshes!

luckett_store_outside2

sheds of fun-ness

One of the sheds had a few of these vintage Italian tole chandeliers (that reminded me a lot of the one Erika at urban grace interiors picked up for her baby girl’s room):

perfect for a little girl's room!

perfect for a little girl's room!

I’ll leave you with two more pics of some of the architectural goodies outside:

pillars and windows and doors, oh my!

pillars and windows and iron stuff, oh my!

iron garden pieces

iron garden pieces

We spent a better part of an hour poring through the Luckett Store – tons of vintage furniture, lighting, accessories, and clothing – I didn’t find anything that was especially calling my name (well, save for a pair of cowhide rugs that were out of my price range…), but did come home with some glass knobs to put on my office / guest room closet doors.

I can’t wait to make my next trip out there!

