While the upstairs guest bath will be getting a fresh new look with some purty wallpaper (#1 is the big winner – thanks for the input!), the downstairs powder room will be made over with pattern as well…only not with wallpaper, but by using a wall stencil!  Fun, right?!

(Sidenote: I realize the concept of “stenciling” might bring up bad images of super country craft fairs and the like, but fear not, this is cool, I promise!)

I first got the idea after seeing Katie Ukrop’s A-MA-ZING floors in the August 2008 issue of our beloved Domino (see the article titled “Neo-Southern Belle”) .  As much as I wish I could paint my floors (someday…!), the hardwoods must remain as is, so I’ll translate her floors to my walls!  Through the article I found Sunny’s Goodtime Paint, a super fun paint/stencil store down in Richmond, VA (here’s a great post on the store over at one of my favorite blogs, This Young House).  Her stencils are at the top of my list – take a looksie:

sunny's goodtime paints stencil options

sunny's goodtime paints stencil options

{1. grayson, 2. bea, 3. gigi repeat, 4. knot, 5. katie – images from Sunny’s Goodtime Paints website}

I think I especially like the “Katie” stencil (below)…just pretend the floor is a powder room wall!:

the katie print (the same as was on katie ukrop's floor!)

the katie print (the same as was on katie ukrop's floor!)

{image from Sunny’s Goodtime Paints website}

Here are some other options I’ve found from Jan Dressler Stencils (they look like wallpapers but they’re stencils like above – just showing color options):

more options from jan dressler stencils

more options from jan dressler stencils

{1. robin carter wallpaper repeat #62, 2. alhambra damask small, 3. robin carter simple medallion repeat #61 – images from Jan Dressler Stencils’ website}

I think I’m deciding between the Katie stencil (Sunny’s #5) and the Simple Medallion stencil (Jan Dressler #3)…  Hmm…

My idea is to either paint the base color in Ralph Lauren’s Manchester Brown (the same as my husband’s office and our basement), and the top color Benjamin Moore’s Monroe Bisque (the same as our hallways)…or vice versa.  The ceiling will be painted the same color as the base color.  What to do, what to do…which should be which?!

Any votes on a stencil pattern?  Or which color should be the base color and which should be the top color?

