So I thought I’d try a new series I call {one room three ways} where I create a room using two or three of the same elements but in completely different styles.  It centers on the idea of purchasing those core timeless items (a sofa, a piece of lighting, a table, etc.) that will carry through every stage of your life, even as your style evolves and trends change.

I may have been a bit ambitious for my first attempt at this, but we’ll see how it goes!  I’ll try to post a room every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  And please know that the items I’ve picked are sort of dream items mixed with practical items, so I can’t promise these are budget picks.

For our first room three different ways, we start with a gorgeous, classic English roll-armed sofa – but in a spunky cranberry color.  This sofa is sure to last you year after year:

a basic sofa - in cranberry

a basic sofa - in cranberry

Next we add a mirrored coffee table that can surely go with any decor at any point in time:

mirror coffee table on castors

mirror coffee table on castors

Can you picture these pieces any room?!  They’re both just beautiful and I want them myself!  How about if we put them in a “french eclectic” setting.  Let’s take a look, shall we?  (click the image for a bigger view of the mood board)

a french eclectic look

a french eclectic look

Sources:

