Our spring/summer calendar is quickly filling up with another round of weddings, so of course I’ve already started thinking about what to wear…  The LBD (little black dress) is always a solid go-to option – and I sure have my share of LBDs.  But how to mix it up event after event?!  Pops of color in my accessories, of course!  I am so in love with pretty much everything at J.Crew these days, especially their gorgeous shoes with the fun bejeweled, flowered, and feathered accents…but I definitely don’t have the cash to buy said shoes.  So why not take a simple pair of black shoes I already own and add some temporary flair?!  Enter shoe bling.

I saw a shoe clip craft on Martha Stewart the other day and thought, “Hey, I can make that…but way cuter!”  With a little imagination and using materials I already had on-hand, shoe blingification began.  Here’s what I started with:

pre-blingification

getting started

  • A pair of black patent leather, rounded toe slingbacks (but any shoe will do)
  • A pair of black bobby pins (or, if you don’t mind waiting, order some shoe clips here – kind of like clip-on earrings)
  • Colored feathers (I used a few $0.50 jewel-toned feather ornament picks I got at JoAnn’s Fabric before Christmas – I was waiting for just the right project!)
  • A smattering of fun buttons with the “loops” on the bottom (I have bags of old salvaged buttons)
  • Super glue
  • Scraps of fabric (for the backs)

I clipped the feathers to the desired length and super glued them to the backs of the buttons in a sunburst pattern.  (Tip – Make sure that those feathers that had a curve are glued so that they curve away from the shoe, not toward it.)  There were a few beads in the flower picks, which I added to one set of the shoe clips for an extra bit of fun.  Next, I cut out a small donut shape from a fabric scrap and stuck it on top of the superglued feathers to finish the back and protect the shoes from any scratches.  After letting it dry, I slipped a bobby pin through the button “loop” and then slid them onto the shoes, angling them to the sides.  I might end up clipping the bobby pins shorter so the tips don’t show, but I think they look pretty darn good right now!  Here’s the final result in green!

green and gold combo

green and gold combo

And in blue:

blue with white (+ some extra blue sparkle)

blue with white (+ some extra blue sparkle)

The glory of this craft is that I can pick whichever look I want…and in oh-so-hot jewel tones that keep me current with the trends and spice up my LBD.

I can’t forget to show a pic of the backs:

even the backs are cute!

even the backs are cute!

And, yes, in case you’re wondering, right now all of my fingertips are covered in super glue (but thankfully not stuck together!) – the price you pay for seriously blinged out shoes!  How would you blingify your shoes?

Some other ideas to get your creative juices flowing: vintage brooches from the thrift store, buttons, satin rosettes (a la J.Crew), bows, pom poms…the possibilities are endless!

