The guest room/my office is now totally painted (in Benjamin Moore’s Agave), the rug pad is under my new rug from Home Goods (shoot, still need to post a pic), the bed is made, and I’m feeling organized for once now that my desk is back in place and neat-ified.  Yay!  I thought I’d post a few pics of my IN PROGRESS desk space…I still have a lot to do to make it “home tour worthy” but I wanted to share anyway!  (Disclaimer: I’m really only home at night so my pics never seem to turn out well without natural sunlight…need to work on that!)

my decluttered, swankified desk space

my decluttered, swankified desk space

The desk was my grandfather’s when he was younger.  I don’t think it’s made by anyone special, but I love that it’s a piece of him since I never really knew him.  I sanded and refinished it back in high school, and added the pewter knobs.  It could use a fresh coat of paint, but it kind of has a loved look now.  I LOVE this desk.  It has the perfect amount of drawers and cubby space.  And I like that I can put my monitor up at eye level – go desk ergonomics!  I have a piece of glass on the desktop, and put a piece of my dining room chair fabric underneath it – that will change at some point, although I’m not quite sure to what yet!  My husband hooked me up with the snazzy Mac monitor and bluetooth keyboard and mouse – I love the mobility of my laptop but it’s super nice to be able to just plug it in to the nice big screen!  The chair (which you can’t see very well) is one of Crate & Barrel’s Vinter side chairs, which I actually snagged from the outlet for $22 – score!  I need to whip up a seat cushion one of these days.

drum shade!

drum shade!

(Ack, the lighting in this pic is so bad!)  The lamp is one I picked up from Nell Hill’s in Atchison, KS, about an hour from where I grew up.  I LOVE that store and the fabulous Mary Carol Garrity.  It used to have a black bell shade on it, but wasn’t providing enough light to the room (with NO overhead lighting, the shame!), so I picked up the drum shade (current new love) from Target over the weekend – I just had to get it since the green was just perfect.  Next to the lamp is a tin can I covered with some funky yellow fabric to house my scissors and pens for easy access.  Oh, and there is my handy dandy paint swatch deck I picked up a few weeks back!

keeping time and bringing the outdoors in

my little desktop "tablescape"

This pic shows a pretty accurate color of the walls – I really love it in a weird split pea soup kind of way.  I have it in my kitchen too, so I better love it!  The clock was a bridesmaid gift from one of my nearest and dearest – I love its shape and traditional-ness.  I snatched up that cute little succulent plant while I was in Trader Joe’s over the weekend – gotta love a drought tolerant plant!  The frame is a little something I picked up on a Saturday morning jaunt with FR from a furniture refinisher in the area, Primitive & Proper – it’s a neat Victorian drawer pull framed on some vintage fabric.  The blue and white tin you can barely see was an antique store pick-up from my sister.  I keep sweet notes and memories in it so I have them nearby.

So there’s the start to my cleaned up guest room/office area.  I will certainly post more as its progress merits!  So…in like 6 months, ha!

