I’m not a good decision maker.  That’s a fact.  There are just so many OPTIONS out there!  Once I make my mind up on one thing, I find something else that might be more perfect.  It’s debilitating sometimes!

Take my current predicament, for example: what to do with the walls of our guest bathroom.  The shower tile in the bathroom is yellow a la 1964 when our townhouse was built, complemented by matching kinda sorta gray (maybe once white?) and yellow mini square tiles…with gray grout that was really poorly done and always looks dirty!  Potentially “retro cool” but it needs some help.  The walls, though, might be the worst part – they are the same color as when we moved in 2 years ago: a horrible shade of periwinkle that is periwinkle-fied by its shiny paint sheen.  Why oh why haven’t I slapped up a coat of white paint up there yet?!  No idea.

Replacing the tile isn’t an option right now…so…enter WALLPAPER OPTIONS!

First I was thinking whites like this and this…then I just wasn’t feeling either of them and started hunting again…  A few weeks ago I saw a sneak peak of the home of Barb Blair of knack studios over at design*sponge…dingdingdingding!  She papered a hallway the most perfect floral print to match my yellow tile.  I emailed her (she ROCKS, by the way) to find out more about it – a Waverly (I know, right?! – Waverly?!) print she found at a now defunct wallpaper store…so my hunt began!  (P.S. – Barb does the most beautiful painted furniture before and afters – check out her blog!)

barb blair's wallpapered hallway - my future bathroom wallpaper?!

barb blair's wallpapered hallway - my future bathroom wallpaper?!

Yesterday I spent my lunch hour at a local wallpaper store and found THE PAPER as well as a few other OPTIONS.  I got to bring the books home and stage them in the bathroom.  What do you think?!

option 1 :: the frontrunner

option 1 :: the frontrunner

The yellow in the paper is sort of a “shades of” yellow – not a perfect match but definitely in the same family.  The beige-y color goes soooo well with the hallway color (Benjamin Moore’s Monroe Bisque).  And the wallpaper’s grays tie in the gray in the floor tile!  I think I may be in wallpaper love!  Hmmm???

option 2 :: too yellow, too bold?

option 2 :: too yellow, too bold?

See, I kind of really like this one in an obnoxious way, but I think it’s just straight up too yellow and the print straight up too bold.

option 3 :: the understated underdog

option 3 :: the understated underdog

The yellow is an EXACT match to the tile – a total deadringer.  BUT…I don’t know if that pattern is what I was going for.  It could definitely work though.  I’m just not sure.  Decisions…

option 4 :: totally traditional toile

option 4 :: totally traditional toile

I really do love a good toile, and this one’s a good one!  It might be a little mustard-y though…and I think I was leaning more fresh and modern than traditional…  But I just don’t know!  Also, do you SEE the periwinkle?! – I didn’t quite capture its periwinkle-ness, but it is BRIGHT…make it go away!)

So there are my 4 options…at least as of right now.  Any thoughts?  Feedback?  Anything to help me make up my mind?!  I think I’m still leaning toward Barb’s fantastic find, but I need to make a be-all end-all decision!  And then once I do that, then I just need to figure out how to measure for it…

