Here’s the second installment of some of last weekend’s Home Goods play date with Former Roommate.  I am already salivating at the thought of taking my next visit…is that pathetic or what?!  I DO know I need to go back for a rug pad (why I didn’t get it while I was there is beyond me)…I wonder what new treasures will be in store for mi casa then?!

Anyway, here’s a pic of my brand spankin’ new lamps (pardon my poor picture taking abilities…and what looks to be a dying plant – they’re cuttings trying to stay alive!):

check out this pair of lacquered beauties!

check out this pair of lacquered beauties!

Interesting, aren’t they? Very unique.  Usually when I hear something described as “interesting” or “unique” that means it’s ugly – and some people might have the same reaction to these lamps – but I really do love them!  The bases are shiny lacquered white candlestick shape – I have been seeing that shape everywhere right now.  They’re WHITE, which I love.  I don’t have much white in my house right now (probably a viceral reaction to all of the white SCAN laminate furniture I had in my bedroom growing up!) but I’m really digging these lamp bases in a serious way.  AND they’re inspiring me to lighten things up a bit and bring in a bit more of a modern flair to my generally “traditional classic” home.

Now for a close up of the shades – I know you were waiting for that:

drum shade detail!

drum shade detail!

I have a new-found love for DRUM SHADES!  I love them!  I kind of sort of want to replace every lampshade in the house with a drum shade, but I shouldn’t and won’t.  The shades are just so different: that basketweave? – no, it’s not fabric, it’s actually WOOD.  Yes, wood.  Very thin slices of wood.  Whadya think?

I figure when I get tired of the shades I can simply swap them out for something else, easy as pie.

One more Home Goods home run to share, stay tuned!

