While in Benjamin Moore a few days ago and waiting for my paint, I got to flip through their new book, Paint Style, a “glorious book to guide you in transforming your home with paint, whether using a brush, roller, sponge. or cloth.”

paint style book by benjamin moore

paint style book by benjamin moore

I still cringe thinking about my sponge-painted bedroom growing up (thanks, Mom, for letting me express myself, but teal, really?), so creative use of paint stirs up not-so-good images in my head.  However, I’ve seen tons of cool “transformational” paint jobs lately (including the pics in this book) that are changing my opinions.  Especially…

…strie (very similar to some of the gorgeous metallic grasspapers, hmm?)…

do you strie?

do you strie?

…stenciling (below, and let’s not forget Katie Ukrop’s stencilled floors in August 2008’s Domino)…

feather stencilled walls

feather stencilled walls

…and faux bois (the pics in the Paint Style book of faux bois were really cool)…

faux bois painting technique

faux bois painting technique

The book is added to my wish list as I start to think about how to re-do the powder room without spending an arm and a leg on a fantastic wallpaper.  Just a little creative elbow grease and I can have myself some fancy shmancy bathroom walls!

