With so many shelter mags closing up shop, I can’t help but remember one of my first favorite ones that folded early last year: Martha Stewart’s Blueprint.  It followed the closure of House & Garden, and then others like Domino, Cottage Living, and Oprah at Home have followed suit this year.  So sad.  (Sidenote: if you’re a Domino lover and don’t want to let it die, check out the new blog We Love Domino, purposed to “keep Domino alive in our hearts and minds beyond the lifespan Si Newhouse saw fit for the magazine”.)

the long-closed blueprint

the long-closed blueprint

I’ve been reorganizing my craft room and ran across a solitary remembrance of that great magazine.  It was similar to Domino (I still can’t believe you’re gone!) in that it was accessible, current, and inspiring…almost a young, “hip” version of Martha Stewart Living.  Domino was still by far my favorite of the two, but I still liked Blueprint.

Flipping through the pages of my only Blueprint made me wish I had each issue…so I did some searching.  It seems that you can still complete your Blueprint librarary (8 issues from Summer 2006 – January/February 2008) by calling 877-747-1050.  $3.50 apiece or the whole set for $16 (plus $2 or $4 S&H, respectively).  I haven’t checked to see whether it’s still possible (although those facts were posted in July 2008), but fingers crossed it is!

Are there any other magazine demises you’re mourning?

