Former Roommate and I had a play date last weekend…and play dates for us involve a visit to the pet store to find the perfect pound puppy plus some sort of home decorating stop (or two) – IKEA, flea market, etc.  So this weekend shes says, “Let’s do Home Goods,” and then about had a heart attack when I informed her that I had never stepped foot in a Home Goods.  Yes, I know.  How is that possible?!?!  (For those of you who are as clueless as I apparently was, Home Goods is a TJ Maxx store that sells deeply discounted housewares – kitchen items, rugs, lighting, furniture, bath, etc. – who’da thunk?!)

Let’s just say I certainly made a memorable first visit…the penance for which my hubby says is a series of blog posts on my finds.  Is that all?!  Well shoot, I’ll go shopping every weekend if that’s my only punishment!!! (He’s lovingly trying to encourage my design blogging…I think so I don’t talk to him about design things all the time…sneaky sneaky!).

Here is my first fab find: a pair of dijon-y greek key throw pillows for the living room.  Poor Mr. Leather Couch has been very bare, waiting for new pillows, and I found a perfect pair – at $16.95 apiece – I think I hit it out of the park.  They’re made of a lovely dupioni silk, and are filled with down feathers.

new pair of pillows!

new pair of pillows!

Now check out the detail – I just loved the geometric Greek key stiching:

detail of greek key stitching

detail of greek key stitching

That’s not all, folks.  Stay tuned for the next Home Goods home run!

