I’ve been seeing a lot of design quizzes floating around the blogosphere lately, but have yet to personally take one…that is, until this morning!  John & Sherry over at This Young House shared the results of the Sproost personal style mix quiz.  I love their style and decided to see how I stacked up.  John was “Rustic Revival” followed by “Cottage Chic” and “French Eclectic”; Sherry was primarily “Cottage Chic” plus “Nantucket Style” and “Vintage Modern”.

My results?  Drumroll please……

my personal style results

my personal style results

Pretty darn on target.  Bravo, Sproost!  Here’s what the blurb says:

Variety is the spice of life! And nowhere is this truer than in the design of your home. You may love contemporary, but wish it wasn’t quite so cold and austere, or perhaps you’re drawn to traditional rooms but you’d like to create a less cluttered and busy space. Transitional Style is here to marry those apparent contradicting designs.

And guess what? It’s the contradictions that make the mix of contemporary and traditional so successful. The result is an elegant room that appeals to young and old alike. A sofa with modern lines blends seamlessly with a pair of traditional chairs. New fabrics work so well on antique pieces. It turns out that modern art looks even more exciting above a collection of traditional pieces. The room feels simple and sophisticated, elegant and hip.

I feel like I have definitely grown in my design tastes over the past few years…from liking matchy matchy traditional and being a modern hater, to very open to modern design as long as it’s mixed with my traditional go-to’s.  I don’t think that has yet translated into my home (hello, cash-o dinero!), but it’s definitely in my brain and changing the way I look at freshening up my house.

After taking the quiz, the site allows you to view “rooms” of stuff that match your top 2 styles.  So here’s what they picked for “Modern Elegance with a touch of Classic”:

modern classic room

modern elegance + classic

Okay.  Close.  A little…boring.  But, I L-O-V-E the tufted brown sofa, the side chair, the clean furniture pieces, the floor lamp.  The other pieces are fine, but not exactly my my tastes at present…

So what if I presto change-o to “Modern Elegance plus French Eclectic” (French Eclectic being my second runner up):

modern french

modern elegance + french eclectic

Dingdingding!  I think we have a winner!  Definitely closer to what’s in the brain right now – it kept the pieces I really liked from the first room of furniture, and added the super cool side table, fun pillows, and pleated shade table lamp.  And my current birdie love (I have half a dozen iron birds around the house right now) has me loving the birds nest.  And the blue patterned rug keeps the room traditional but light and airy.

Go take the quiz!  How did you score?!

