…the second man gets the shell.”

– Andrew Carnegie

One of our annual Thanksgiving traditions is a day after sports challenge and oyster roast.  Starting a year and a half before Thanksgiving time, my parents grow oysters from spat in little “oyster hotels” that, come November, are the perfect size for enjoying: raw, steamed, heated on the grill, broiled, or however else you can dream up preparing them!  Not only are they super tasty and fresh (pulled from the water that day and cleaned with a power washer), but they have the added benefit of cleaning gallons and gallons of water in the Chesapeake Bay….before we thank them for their hard work and eat them, of course.

I thought I’d share a few pics of my hubby and uncle shucking oysters so my mom could prepare Oysters Royale (homemade garlic butter, lemon juice, parmesan cheese) under the broiler – delicious!

oysters

the oysters ready to be shucked

Wearing special oyster shucking gloves is definitely recommended, as the edges of the oysters can be quite sharp!

the oyster clear of its shell

the oyster clear of its shell

a fresh raw oyster

a fresh raw oyster

the tray of oysters ready to go under the broiler

the tray of oyster shells ready to be filled with oysters royale

I wish I had an after pics of the Oysters Royale, but they were gobbled up so quickly I didn’t get a chance to take a pic!

And here is my husband and uncle enjoying an oyster shooter (Absolut vodka, tobasco sauce, fresh raw oyster with juices) after all their hard work.  They certainly have a bit of kick to them, and are definitely an acquired taste.

bottoms up!

bottoms up!

