My primary Thanksgiving task (aside from assisting my mom in the kitchen!) is to set the table for dinner. My parents host Thanksgiving at their summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, so dinner is typically a low-key, casual affair.  But, we still try to dress it up a bit for the occasion.

Last year I decided to forage outside for material for our first ever centerpiece bouquet.  Here’s a pic:

last year's thanksgiving bouquet

last year's thanksgiving bouquet

I was lucky that my mom has done one heckuva job planting lots of beautiful plants on their property – here, I used hydrangeas (some still holding their color although dead! – burgundy, blues, greens – gorgeous!), magnolia leaves, and crepe myrtle seed pods.

This year I was a little more adventurous:

this year's thanksgiving bouquet

this year's thanksgiving bouquet

I used an urn from my wedding centerpieces, and filled it with browned hydrangeas, oak leaf hydrangea leaves, more of the crepe myrtle seed pods, and a spray of ornamental grasses.

Now if only I had a cutting garden available to me at home like at the Bay…

