Many thanks to John & Sherry over at Young House Love for crowning me grand prize winner of tickets for two to R Home magazine‘s inaugural R Home for the Holidays, as well as a year’s subscription to the magazine!

me in front of the beach themed christmas tree

me in front of the beach themed christmas tree

My mom, a sucker like I am for a good holiday event, was my date for the evening.  We made the trek down to the Virginia Historical Society in Richmond in time to enjoy a glass of wine and some tasty hors d’ouvres, while ooh-ing and ahh-ing over designer-decorated trees and local stores’ Christmas goodies.

After some mingling, we headed into the auditorium to hear Bon Appetit‘s editor-in-chief Julia Fairchild share about her 31 years at Bon Appetit (yowza!), holiday entertaining, and their new cookbook, Fast Easy FreshMatthew Mead, style editor for Country Home magazine and pictured below, finished off the evening with a presentation of his new book, Entertaining Simple, as well as quick and festive fall entertaining ideas.

matthew mead doin' his thing

matthew mead doin' his thing

Young House Love has some great pics of the event here (including one of the three of us) – they were much more prolific with their camera than I was!  Thanks again, it was great fun!

