After cleaning out our guest room/my office and going through the storage area of our basement, I had quite a pile of giveaways to take to Goodwill.  This time, instead of doing the normal dump-it-in-a-Goodwill-dumpster-run, I decided to donate to the Unique Thrift Store, a thrift store chain (if you will) that sells unique, gently used items.  Proceeds benefit the Military Order of the Purple Heart and the Vietnam Veterans of America charities.

My whole intention was to drop and go, but then the words of Former Roommate popped in my head about her friend Michelle who always finds such steals and deals there.  So, I decided to enter and swarm with the other bargain hunters.

I wandered somewhat aimlessly at first, but then picked through the kitchenwares and home decor sections.  Granted, most of it was junk, but I debated buying a sturdy bundt pan, some cordial stemware, and some milk glass pieces.  Then I saw a big punch bowl and extra serving bowl with 32 – yes, 32 – punch glasses, all for $19.91!

punch bowl

punch bowl + some of the glasses

Although I doubt it’s the real deal, it looks a heckuva lot like the early American pressed glass my mom collects (inverted thumbprint pattern perhaps?).  Now time to hunt for a be-a-utiful punch ladle to complete the look!

But even if it’s not real early American pressed glass, I’m sure glad I have something for our upcoming claymation cartoon Christmas party and all of the bridal and baby showers I host!

