Another piece to the nursery makeover (that my college roommates and I are doing for our friend in lieu of a typical baby shower) was a late addition to the plan.  If you remember, we did a fun DIY project: the Spool Sewing bird mobile.  Then, using some of the leftover fabric, I recovered a bolster pillow to add a pop of color to the glider.  Feeling like there was still a little more craftiness left in me, I had an idea to add a little more birdie fun to the nursery, either to top the changing table or side table.  So, I increased the size of the bird mobile pattern, sewed and stuffed away, and voila! – big bird!

isn't he the cutest?!

isn't he just the cutest?!

I added a few extra embellishments, including a chest patch, plaid beak, and pink button eyes.

shake a tail feather!

shake a tail feather!

P.S. – The nursery is finally almost done!  I’m headed back down there to kill three birds with one stone (ha! no pun intended): homecoming, a wedding, and the nursery project wrap-up!  Check back Sunday night for the full before and after of the nursery!

