As a part my friend’s nursery decorating project, one of the many DIY projects was to take an ordinary bolster pillow (a $9.99 steal at IKEA) and add a pop of color to the pale pink room.

plain ol' white bolster

BEFORE :: plain ol' white bolster

How did I do it?  Here is my DIY tutorial:

MATERIALS:

  • 1 pillow
  • Fabric to cover the “tube” portion of the pillow
  • Contrasting fabric for the ends of the pillow
  • 3/4″ grosgrain ribbon
  • Sewing machine
  • Needle & thread

STEP-BY-STEP:

  1. First, I removed the outside pillow cover, a plain white twill fabric (to reuse, I might just stuff it with batting and use it elsewhere!).
  2. Using an awesome hot pink fabric with what I’ll call “farfalle pasta” yarn pompoms (that I found 70% off of $24.99 – go me!…should have bought more!), I wrapped (finished side down), pinned, cut to length, and sewed the outside tube.
  3. Reusing a fun floral fabric from the bird mobile we made, I laid it on one end of the pillow and cut a circular piece slightly larger than the end of the pillow.
  4. I cut an identical circle for the other end of the pillow.
  5. With the hot pink tube still inside out, I took a piece of 3/4″ pink grosgrain ribbon (used to hang the bird mobile from the ceiling), folded it in half like piping, matched it between the tube and one of the circle pieces, pinned the pieces, then carefully and slowly sewed the pieces together.
  6. Turning the tube right side out, I stuffed the pillow in the casing.
  7. I folded over another piece of grosgrain, matched it to only the loose end circle, and sewed, again carefully and slowly using my sewing machine.
  8. This next step was slow, but worth it: I hand-sewed the end piece to the tube.

Here’s the end result, which will grace the buttery yellow glider!

a pillow with pizazz!

AFTER :: a pillow with pizazz!

